top of page
Search
  • psophieb

Addressing Ignorances


art by: Preston Singletary, NMAI 2021 Exhibit


My time in the capitol city has brought me much joy and adventure as I work to navigate this historic establishment and for the most part I have shared with you what an honor and privileged it all has been. This week I had an experience that reminded me to the importance it is for us Indigenous and diverse people to work in a place that shapes our states/communities/environments. During a conversation, I was placed in an uncomfortable position of justifying why our native health services required further advocacy after I shared my interest in public policy stemmed from wanting to advocate for solutions to health issues that not only plague my community, but many more. I was asked, "IHS already gets so much funding, why do they need more when people without insurance and don't qualify for special treatment can't get access?"

I was shocked and unprepared, but this is an important dialog to have. I explained it shouldn't be the case that anyone is unable to get healthcare, and we should be supporting those who have difficulties. These issues are not the same but deserve equal attention. IHS is actively working against centuries of cultural and medical injustices and that the funding that our health centers get goes to rebuild the lives and culture all Indigenous cultures impacted by generations of trauma.

To be honest I was uncomfortable, I am a very fortunate individual and for many non Alaskans I am white passing, but I am not immune to stereotypes and negative perceptions put onto my heritage. In this instance I needed to be ready to combat this misinformation and address the misplaced frustration in the conversation, my discomfort will only be spread to others if I don't use my voice, so I spoke. And it may not have all been the right words - or the correct phrasing, but taking room to change the narrative might have altered if not completely changed the way others in the conversation consider healthcare in Native spaces.

I can only hope that my message was clear and that it brought reflection and reconsideration.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page