top of page
Search
  • psophieb

Making my mark! Bill hearing for HB111

Celebratory Selfie: PSBphotography

I am so excited to share that my bill HB 111 regarding Advanced Practice Permits for Dental Hygienist passed through the House Labor & Commerce committee! To give a brief overview here is a quick summary of what the purpose of the bill is:


"Oral health plays a crucial role in the overall health and well-being of Alaskans. Barriers to accessing dental care in Alaska have created enormous need in communities that are underserved by traditional system of care. HB 111 will establish an Advanced Practice Permit for experienced, Alaska-licensed dental hygienists. Dental hygienists are skilled, licensed oral health care professionals who focus on preventing and treating oral diseases. The creation of Advanced Practice Permits will also increase access to oral care for individuals who need care but are not able to visit a dental office because of illness or disability. Additionally, it will offer new consumer choices for services and improve public education regarding dental hygiene and its connection to oral and overall health."


This last week was a stressful but educational experience. I spent the week prior rehearsing my presentation, meeting with interested parties, ensuring my material were ready and relevant, and so much more yet nothing could have prepared me for my actual presentation. In the moment it all felt very overwhelming and messy but when I rewatched it, it was actually really controlled and well put together, the support Representative Spohnholz provided made me feel secure in my abilities and the support from experts help to ensure a successful case for HB111. Initially the questions seemed like a lot but through the two days I was able to understand the process so much better in a way not going through that experience would have limited me, and my understanding of bill processes. Up next is the House Finance committee, something I nervous for but feel more confident in already. I'm hoping to make it all the way with HB111.


I will continue my progress! Until next week, stay healthy!


Quyana,

Pakak Sophie

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page